Thai Prime Minister and all ten ministers under censure motions survive no-confidence vote

Thailand –

The Thai Prime Minister, Prayut Chan O’Cha, and all ten ministers under censure motions survived their censure debate aimed by opposition parties to unseat the current government this morning (July 23rd) in a vote at Parliament.

The Prime Minister Prayut received 256 votes of support, 207 against, and 9 abstentions.

The highest level of support and votes went to Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan with 268 votes of support, 193 against, and 11 abstentions.

Meanwhile, the lowest level of support votes went to Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Commerce Jurin Laksanawisit with 241 votes of support, 207 against and 23 abstentions.

Essentially, this means the current government will stay in power until democratically scheduled elections in 2023. This was the fourth time the opposition has tried to unseat Prayut’s government and the fourth time they have failed.

Prime Minister Prayut Chan-O-Cha has been in power in Thailand since he led a coup in 2014.


Don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter and get all our news delivered to you in one spam-free daily e-mail Click here! OR, enter your e-mail below!

Help support The Pattaya News in 2022!

Goongnang Suksawat
Goong Nang is a News Translator who has worked professionally for multiple news organizations in Thailand for many years and has worked with The Pattaya News for more than four years. Specializes primarily in local news for Phuket, Pattaya, and also some national news, with emphasis on translation between Thai to English and working as an intermediary between reporters and English-speaking writers. Originally from Nakhon Si Thammarat, but lives in Phuket and Krabi except when commuting between the three.